Beyond Mars : The Complete Series


by Jack Williamson and Lee Elias
Edited & Designed by Dean Mullaney. Introduction by Bruce Canwell.
Oversized 9.25″ x 12″ full color hardcover, 160 pp

Preview Beyond Mars : The Complete Series




This oversized book presents the complete series—all 161 strips from 1952 to 1955—in its original color!

Unlike other science fiction strips, this one was created and written by a bona fide science fiction star. Jack Williamson sold his first story, “The Metal Man,” in 1928, won both the Hugo and Nebula Awards (for “The Ultimate Earth”), was only the second writer (after Robert Heinlein) named a Grand Master of Science Fiction by the SF Writers of America, received the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement, and is in SF Hall of Fame.

The strip was drawn by Lee Elias in a style clearly influenced by Milton Caniff and Noel Sickles. Starting out drawing “Good Girl Art” at Fiction House in 1943, Elias became famous for his outstanding art on the heroine Black Cat for Harvey Comics. In his early and later career at DC Comics, he drew “Green Arrow” for five years, and co-created the Fiddler, the original Star Sapphire, and Eclipso.

The story takes place 200 years in the future when “a new force—paragravity—had enabled men to live and breathe on the asteroids.” It is loosely based on Williamson’s Seetee novels. Seetee = CT, or “contraterrene,” was an unusual concept at the time; it’s now well-known as “anti-matter.” The strip stars Mike Flint, a spatial engineer who lives on Brooklyn Rock, an asteroid “beyond Mars.” With his green-skinned metallic partner from Venus, Flint gets involved in a series of lighthearted adventures, battling space pirates, teaming up with a bevy of beautiful and strong-minded women, and dealing with addicts of the mysterious space drug called “star dust.”

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes